Synopsis: A series about a powerful friendship that blossoms between a tightly wound widow and a free spirit with a shocking secret.


FULL REVIEW: CONTAINS SPOILERS

 


Verdict

This season of Dead to Me is a delightfully dark comedy that tackles the issues of life after loss. The show feels a bit slow at times as episodes drag towards their conclusions with hollow humor and an unnecessary layering of its storylines. Thankfully, each episode ends on a satisfying and enticing cliffhanger to drag the audience right back into the story. This paired with the chemistry and charisma of the two leading women, the moving themes and strong tone make for a worthwhile journey in the end. From its premise to its characters, Dead to Me season one may not deliver on its humorous aspects, but still manages to move its audience with a profound look at mutual grief.

Score: 7.5/10

What did you think of Dead to Me? Let me know in the comments!

On top of writing reviews for this site, I also post video reviews on my YouTube channel The Film Fanatic where we post content like movie and TV reviews, countdown videos, movie recommendations, script analyses and more. If you liked this, check out my other reviews here as well as my website! Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and like me on Facebook.

Leave a comment